Wednesday , January 16 2019
Breaking News
Home / Breaking News / All set for KCAA annual elections 2013-14
All set for KCAA annual elections 2013-14

All set for KCAA annual elections 2013-14

KARACHI: The authorities concerned have almost finalised all the arrangements for holding the annual elections of Karachi Customs Agents Association (KCAA) for the year 2013-14.

In this regard, total 33 KCAA members have filed nomination papers for different posts including President, Senior Vice President, Vice President, Assistant Vice President, General Secretary, Joint Secretary, Information Secretary, Finance Secretary and Members of Managing Committee (MMC).

It is pertinent to mention here that no other panel of Customs agents was going to contest the elections against the Karachi Customs Agents Alliance panel till the last date of nominations, September 14. The final list of the candidates would be displayed on September 23.

Sources said that the final list will have names of elected office-bearers and the members of managing committee, due to their unopposed election. They further said that Asif Sakhi is likely to be elected as President KCAA and Faisal Mushtaq as General Secretary unopposed.

When contacted, Asif Sakhi said that he is not aware of these developments. But he did not rule out the possibility of his victory as President KCAA.

Among the nominees, five members filed their nomination papers for the post of President including Asif Sakhi, Faisal Mushtaq, Iftikhar Ahmed Shaikh, Javed Ahmed Vohra and Mohammad Amin Essani; two members filed nominations for the position of Senior Vice President including Mohammad Amin Essani and Qamar Alam, three submitted nominations for the post of Vice President including Ch Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Azam Malik and Saghir Ahmed Qureshi, two filed nominations for the post of Assistant Vice President including Tariq Rasheed Khan and Saghir Ahmed Qureshi; three filed nominations for General Secretary including Asif Sakhi, Fida Hussain and Nadeem Kamil; three filed nominations for position of Joint Secretary including Aamir Altaf, Khursheed Alam Khan and Nadeem Kamil; two filed their nomination papers for the slot of Information Secretary and their names are as under Gohar Mehboob and Muhammad Munaf Jangda while only a single nomination paper of Munaf Jangda was filed for the position of Finance Secretary while 19 members of the Association filed the nomination papers for 12 seats of Members Managing Committee.

Sources informed Customs Today that Muhammad Munaf Jangda, who filed nominations for the slots of Finance Secretary and Information Secretary, has already been elected unopposed for Finance Secretary, besides Gohar Mehboob has been elected for the position of Information Secretary.

It may be mentioned here that the incumbent President Saifullah Khan and General Secretary Yahya Muhammad did not file their nominations for any position. During the last 5 years, Saifullah Khan was the only member of KCAA who held the office of President KCAA for three times in the years 2009-2010, 2011-2012 and 2012-13.

While, Tahir Mehmood had served as President KCAA in the year 2005-2006, Ali Asghar Tahir had served as acting President KCAA for four months from May-September 2006 and Mohammad Younus Soomro remained President KCAA in the year 2010-2011. In the upcoming elections, no previous president is contesting the KCAA elections.

It is worth mentioning that Khurram Ijaz had served more than one time at the position of KCAA General Secretary. Ijaz served as General Secretary for two consecutive years in 2008-2009 and 2009-2010.

Wasiq Hussain had served as General Secretary for the year 2010-2011 and Faisal Mushtaq served as General Secretary for the year 2011-12, while Yahya Muhammad is the incumbent General Secretary.

Except Faisal Mushtaq, none of the previous served general secretaries submitted nominations for KCAA elections for the year 2013-14.