Monday , July 16 2018
Breaking News
Home / Uncategorized / All 15 BMGians elected unopposed in KCCI election 2017-18
All 15 BMGians elected unopposed in KCCI election 2017-18

All 15 BMGians elected unopposed in KCCI election 2017-18

KARACHI: All candidates of Businessmen Group (BMG) have been elected unopposed for Managing Committee of Karachi Chamber of Commerce and Industry for the year 2017-18.

Total of 31 nominations were received by the Election Commission.  Of these 30 candidates belonged to Businessmen Group. Only a single nomination was submitted by a candidate from other group, who later withdrew through his proposer, says KCCI press release here on Wednesday.

The remaining 30 nominations papers were scrutinized by the Election Commission, which declared 11 nomination papers as invalid.  Whereas, four candidates withdrew their nomination papers.  This resulted in unanimous election of remaining 15 BMG candidates. Therefore, all 15 BMGian candidates were declared successful in KCCI’s election 2017-18.

The successful BMGians include names of Abdul Basit Haji Abdul Razzak, Muffasar Atta Malik, Khurram Shahzad, Muhmmad Riaz Dhedhi, Asif Sheikh Javaid, Tanveer Ahmed Barry, Muhammad Hussain, Jahangir Shahid, Shamim Ahmed, Khurram Riaz, Tariq Anis, Muhammad Hilal Sheikh, Muhammad Ismail, Adeel Nasir and Muhammad Junaid Teli.  As the Managing Committee members had been unanimously elected, hence no general election for Managing Committee would be held on September 16, 2017. However, the election of KCCI’s Office Bearers for 2017-18 was scheduled to be held on Saturday Sept 23, 2017.  Chairman Businessmen Group (BMG) and former President KCCI Siraj Kassam Teli, on the occasion, expressed gratitude to Almighty Allah and conveyed thanks and compliments to the business community of Karachi for reposing confidence and trust on Businessmen Group.  He said that BMG had been winning all the elections without losing a single seat for the last 20 years. Over this period, it was the eleventh consecutive term when all our candidates had been elected unopposed in KCCI.